ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini: free plans compared
Best for unlimited text chat: ChatGPT, the only one of the three whose pricing page calls Free text chat unlimited (subject to abuse guardrails).
| Tool | What you get | Limits | Card required | The catch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (subject to abuse guardrails); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex. | Limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex; 27K context window (GPT Instant) | Not stated by vendor | Heavier features are capped at unstated limits; the paid Go tier may include ads. | chatgpt.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Claude | Claude chat on web, desktop and mobile with web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, and Claude Design, Slides and Docs. | Usage limits reset on a rolling 5-hour window; up to 5 projects | Not stated by vendor | Usage limits are not published (they reset on a rolling five-hour window); Claude Code, Opus models and Research are not included on Free. | claude.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Google Gemini | Gemini app with the Flash-Lite model, image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, limited Google Flow access and 15 GB of storage. | Flash-Lite model only; paid plans get 2x to 4x higher usage | Not stated by vendor | Paid plans offer 2x to 4x higher usage than Free; exact Free limits are not published. | gemini.google/subscriptions checked 2026-10-14 |
Every row is taken from the vendor's official pricing page, checked 2026-10-14. "Not stated by vendor" means the page does not say. Plans change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
Pick this if
FAQ
Is ChatGPT free?
Yes. The ChatGPT pricing page lists a Free plan with unlimited text chats (subject to abuse guardrails) and limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex.
Does Claude Free include Claude Code?
No. Claude Code is not included on the Free plan, per claude.com/pricing.
What model does Gemini Free use?
The Gemini subscriptions page lists the Flash-Lite model for the free Gemini app, with lower limits on advanced models.
Do ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini need a credit card for the free plan?
None of the three pricing pages states a card requirement for the free plan. ChatGPT and Claude need an email; Gemini needs a Google Account.