Best free web hosting for developers
Best for previews and functions on one free plan: Netlify, which lists deploys, deploy previews, custom domains with SSL, functions, database and blob storage within 300 credits a month.
| Tool | What you get | Limits | Card required | The catch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Netlify | Deploys, deploy previews, custom domains with SSL, functions, database, blob storage, CDN; 300 credits a month. | Monthly credit limit | Not stated by vendor | 300 credit monthly limit. | netlify.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Vercel | Hobby: deploy from Git with CI/CD, CDN, firewall, DDoS mitigation and fluid compute. | Non-commercial only | Not stated by vendor | Hobby is for personal, non-commercial use only. | vercel.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Cloudflare Workers | Limited usage of Workers, Pages Functions, Workers KV and Hyperdrive. | 100k req/day | Not stated by vendor | Durable Objects and higher limits need the $5/month Paid plan. | developers.cloudflare.com/workers/platform/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| GitHub Pages | Static hosting from a GitHub repo; sites up to 1 GB with a 100 GB/month soft bandwidth limit. | 1GB site, 100GB bandwidth soft limit | Not stated by vendor | Not allowed for online businesses or e-commerce; private-repo Pages need a paid plan. | docs.github.com/en/pages/getting-started-with-github-pages/github-pages-limits checked 2026-10-14 |
| Firebase | Spark plan with no-cost usage limits across Firestore, Auth, Hosting and more. | Daily quotas | No (stated by vendor) | Some services and higher usage need the Blaze pay-as-you-go plan. | firebase.google.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
Every row is taken from the vendor's official pricing page, checked 2026-10-14. "Not stated by vendor" means the page does not say. Plans change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
Pick this if
FAQ
Can I use Vercel Hobby for a business?
No. Vercel states Hobby is for personal, non-commercial use only.
Is GitHub Pages free?
Yes for public repos: sites up to 1 GB with a 100 GB/month soft bandwidth limit. It is not allowed for online businesses or e-commerce.
How many requests does Cloudflare Workers allow for free?
100,000 requests a day. Durable Objects and higher limits need the $5/month Paid plan.
What does Netlify free include?
Deploys, deploy previews, custom domains with SSL, functions, database, blob storage and CDN, within 300 credits a month.