Free Tier Finder

Last updated

Español
Guides / 8 listed

Free project management tools for small teams

Every tool below has a free plan for planning and tracking work, but the free limits fall in different places: some cap the number of people, some cap boards or projects, and some cap storage. Pick the tool whose limit you are least likely to hit. Every limit comes from the vendor's pricing page; add a team wiki such as Confluence if you also need shared docs.

8 listings · facts checked on official pages, latest 2026-10-26. Plans change; confirm on the vendor's site.

Free project management plans compared
PlanPeople on the free planMain free limit
ClickUpUnlimited free plan members60 MB of storage
TrelloNot stated10 boards per Workspace
PlaneUp to 12 usersAI, wiki and time tracking are paid
JiraUp to 10 users2 GB of storage
Zoho ProjectsUp to 5 users3 projects
BasecampUp to 3 invited people1 project
Asana2 usersPersonal use
monday.comUp to 2 seats3 boards

Checked on the official pricing pages, 2026-10-26

Plane Free: $0 per seat a month: projects and work items, cycles and modules, five layouts, work item intake, estimates and project pages. The plan table lists a seat limit of 12 users for Free. Pro ($6 per seat a month) adds AI credits, a workspace wiki, time tracking and dashboards. Source: plane.so/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Zoho Projects Free: Free for up to 5 users: 3 projects, subtasks, a whiteboard, 5 GB of storage, iOS and Android apps and 50 workflow action executions a month. Source: www.zoho.com/projects/pricing.html, checked 2026-10-26.

Basecamp Personal: "One project, free forever. Invite up to 3 people." Business packages start with Freelancer at $29 a month for 3 projects, 10 GB and up to 5 users. Source: basecamp.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

ClickUp Free Forever: 60MB storage, unlimited tasks, unlimited free plan members, collaborative docs, Kanban boards and sprint management. Source: clickup.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Trello Free: Unlimited cards, up to 10 boards per Workspace, unlimited Power-Ups per board, unlimited storage (10MB per file) and 250 Workspace command runs a month. Source: trello.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Asana Personal: $0 "Free forever" for one or two people: 2 users, unlimited tasks and projects, list, board and calendar views, unlimited storage at 100MB max per file. Source: asana.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

monday.com Free: $0 free forever, up to 2 seats and up to 3 boards. AI features are available from Basic. Source: monday.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

01ClickUpProductivity

No card needed
What you get
Unlimited tasks and free-plan members, collaborative docs, Kanban boards and sprint management, with 60 MB of storage.
How to get it
Choose Get Started under Free Forever on clickup.com/pricing.
What it requires
No credit card required.
The catch
Storage is capped at 60 MB, and ClickUp Brain AI is only a 500-credit trial per workspace.

From the official page · checked Oct 24, 2026

Pick this if: You want unlimited tasks and members with docs, Kanban boards and sprints, and your files fit in 60 MB.

ClickUp details

02TrelloProductivity

What you get
Up to 10 boards per Workspace, 10 collaborators, unlimited cards and Power-Ups, 10 MB per file.
How to get it
Sign up at trello.com.
The catch
Capped at 10 boards and 250 Workspace command runs a month.

From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026

Pick this if: You think in boards and cards and 10 boards per Workspace is enough.

Trello details

03PlaneProductivity

What you get
Projects and work items with cycles, modules, five layouts, intake, estimates and project pages for up to 12 users.
How to get it
Click "Get started free" on plane.so/pricing.
What it requires
Not stated on the pricing page.
The catch
Capped at 12 users; AI credits, the workspace wiki, time tracking and dashboards start on Pro ($6 per seat a month).

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You run software or product work with cycles and modules and have up to 12 people.

Plane details

04JiraProductivity

No card needed
What you get
Unlimited goals, projects, tasks and forms; backlog, list, board, timeline, calendar and summary views; automation; and 2 GB of storage for up to 10 users.
How to get it
Click "Get it free" on the Jira pricing page.
What it requires
An Atlassian account.
The catch
Going over 10 users moves you to a 7-day Standard trial; Rovo AI features start on Standard.

From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026

Pick this if: You run a software team of up to 10 people and want backlog, board, timeline and automation.

Jira details

05Zoho ProjectsProductivity

What you get
3 projects for up to 5 users, with subtasks, a whiteboard, 5 GB of storage, 50 workflow action runs a month, mobile apps and Google and Office 365 integrations.
How to get it
Click "Get Started" under Free on zoho.com/projects/pricing.html.
What it requires
A Zoho account.
The catch
Only 3 projects; unlimited projects, timesheets and custom views start on Premium.

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You have up to 5 people and 3 projects and want a whiteboard and some workflow automation.

Zoho Projects details

06BasecampProductivity

What you get
One Basecamp project, free forever, shared with up to 3 people you invite.
How to get it
Click "Get one project free" on basecamp.com/pricing.
What it requires
Not stated on the pricing page.
The catch
Only one project; business packages start at $29 a month (Freelancer: 3 projects, 10 GB, up to 5 users).

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You run one project with up to 3 other people and want everything for it in one place.

Basecamp details

07AsanaProductivity

Changed
What you get
Unlimited tasks and projects with list, board and calendar views; unlimited storage (100 MB max per file).
How to get it
Sign up at asana.com.
The catch
Limited to 2 users on the Personal free plan.

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You plan personal projects with one other person and want list, board and calendar views.

Asana details

08monday.comProductivity

No card needed
What you get
Organize projects on up to 3 boards and 3 Docs with 200+ templates and the mobile apps, for up to 2 people.
How to get it
Click "Try for free" under Free on monday.com/pricing.
The catch
Two seats and three boards only; AI features start on Basic.

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You are two people organizing work on up to 3 boards with templates.

monday.com details

Questions

What is the best free project management tool?

It depends on which limit you will hit first. ClickUp does not cap members but caps storage at 60 MB; Plane allows up to 12 users; Trello caps boards at 10 per Workspace (pricing pages checked 2026-10-26).

Which free project management tool allows the most users?

ClickUp lists unlimited free plan members. Among plans with a user cap, Plane allows up to 12 users and Jira up to 10.

Is Basecamp free?

Basecamp Personal is free forever for one project, and you can invite up to 3 people. More projects need a business package, from $29 a month.

Do these free plans include AI?

Mostly not. monday.com lists AI from Basic, Plane lists AI credits from Pro, and ClickUp Brain is only a trial on Free.

Related

ShareXRedditLinkedIn

Notify me when a free tier changes.

An email when a listed free plan changes, plus new free tiers. Confirm by email first. Unsubscribe anytime.