Free Tier Finder

Last updated

Español
Guides / 5 listed

Free knowledge base and team wiki tools

A knowledge base keeps your team's how-tos, product docs and policies in one place, and the free plans below cover small teams well. The limits fall in different places: Confluence caps users and storage, Nuclino caps the number of documents, GitBook's free plan is for one person, and Notion's free plan is built for individuals. If you need a public help center that also answers customers, Botpress includes one on its free chatbot plan. Every limit comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

5 listings · facts checked on official pages, latest 2026-10-26. Plans change; confirm on the vendor's site.

Free knowledge base plans compared
PlanWho it is forMain free limit
ConfluenceUp to 10 users2 GB of file storage
NuclinoYour whole team50 items across all workspaces
GitBookIndividualsNo custom domain or real-time collaboration
NotionIndividualsNotion AI is a trial
Botpress3 seats100 conversations; Help Center included

Internal team wikis first, then docs for one writer, then a customer-facing help center. Buttons marked "affiliate link" may earn us a commission at no cost to you; they never change the order. See the affiliate disclosure.

Checked on the official pricing pages, 2026-10-26

Confluence Free: "Free forever for 10 users", $0: pages, spaces, databases, templates, up to 3 active whiteboards per user, 50 automation steps per month, support from Atlassian Community and up to 2 GB of file storage. Standard is $5.78 per user a month. Source: www.atlassian.com/software/confluence/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Nuclino Free: $0 per user a month: up to 50 items, up to 3 canvases and 2 GB of total storage. The FAQ says items are documents, and the 50-item limit counts across all workspaces. Source: www.nuclino.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

GitBook Free: "GitBook has a Free plan for individuals", $0 a month. The feature table lists Git Sync, the block-based editor, auto-updating API docs and page view analytics on Free; a custom domain, real-time collaboration and teams are not included; GitBook Agent has a 10 message limit per week. Source: www.gitbook.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Notion Free: $0 per member a month "for individuals to organize personal projects and life", with a trial of Notion AI, basic forms, basic sites, Notion Calendar and databases. Source: www.notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

Botpress Free: $0: 100 conversations with "No top-ups or overages", 3 seats, 3 AI agents, and a Help Center, "a public-facing knowledge base for your customers to self-serve". Source: www.botpress.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-26.

01ConfluenceProductivity

What you get
Pages, spaces, databases and templates for up to 10 users, with 3 active whiteboards per user, 50 automation steps a month and 2 GB of file storage.
How to get it
Click "Get it free" on atlassian.com/software/confluence/pricing.
What it requires
An Atlassian account; support is from the Atlassian Community.
The catch
Capped at 10 users and 2 GB; Rovo AI, guest access and advanced permissions start on Standard ($5.78 per user a month).

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You have up to 10 people and want pages, spaces, databases and templates for a team wiki.

Open Confluence pricing

Confluence details

02NuclinoProductivity

What you get
Real-time collaborative docs with list, board, table and graph views, up to 3 canvases (whiteboards), integrations, the API and web, desktop and mobile apps, for up to 50 items.
How to get it
Click "Get started" under Free on nuclino.com/pricing.
What it requires
Not stated for the free plan; the paid trial needs no credit card.
The catch
The 50-item limit covers your whole team across all workspaces; unlimited items, publishing and version history start on Starter ($6 per user a month).

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You want a fast, simple wiki for a small team and fewer than 50 documents in total.

Open Nuclino pricing

Nuclino details

03GitBookProductivity

What you get
Publish docs with the block editor, Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab, interactive API docs, an auto-generated MCP server, page view analytics and email support, for one person.
How to get it
Click "Get started" under Free on gitbook.com/pricing.
What it requires
Not stated on the pricing page.
The catch
Built for individuals: inviting your team, real-time collaboration and a custom domain start on Essential ($65 per site a month billed annually, plus $12 per user).

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You write public product or API docs on your own and want Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab.

Open GitBook pricing

GitBook details

04NotionProductivity

What you get
Personal workspace with forms, sites, Notion Calendar and a trial of Notion AI.
How to get it
Sign up at notion.com.
What it requires
A free Notion account.
The catch
Notion AI is a trial only.

From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026

Pick this if: You are one person organizing notes and docs, and want databases, forms and a basic public site.

Open Notion pricing

Notion details

05BotpressAI Agents

What you get
3 AI agents, 3 seats, 100 conversations, Help Center, community support.
How to get it
Get started free at botpress.com.
The catch
Only 100 conversations, with no top-ups on the Free plan.

From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026

Pick this if: You want a public help center for customers plus an AI chatbot that answers common questions.

Get Botpress through our linkaffiliate link

Disclosure: Botpress pays us 30% of your first 12 months if you upgrade through our link. It costs you nothing extra.

Botpress details

Questions

What is the best free knowledge base software?

For a team of up to 10, Confluence's free plan is the most complete: pages, spaces, databases and 2 GB of storage. For a small team with few documents, Nuclino is simpler but stops at 50 items (pricing pages checked 2026-10-26).

Is Confluence free?

Yes. Atlassian lists Confluence Free as "Free forever for 10 users" with up to 2 GB of file storage.

Is GitBook free?

GitBook has a Free plan for individuals at $0. Inviting a team, real-time collaboration and a custom domain start on Essential ($65 per site a month billed annually).

Can I make a public help center for free?

Yes. Botpress Free includes a Help Center, a public knowledge base for customers, alongside 100 chatbot conversations. GitBook Free also publishes public docs on a GitBook address.

Do I need a credit card?

The pricing pages for these free plans do not say either way. Nuclino's FAQ says its paid-plan trial needs no card.

Related

ShareXRedditLinkedIn

Notify me when a free tier changes.

An email when a listed free plan changes, plus new free tiers. Confirm by email first. Unsubscribe anytime.