Free Mailchimp alternatives
Mailchimp still has a Free plan. Its plan comparison page (checked Oct 21, 2026) caps it at 250 contacts and 500 email sends a month, no more than 250 a day, with 1 seat and 1 audience. Automation flows are listed as not included (a free preview only), email scheduling and removing Mailchimp branding are not included, and email support covers only the first 30 days. The table compares each alternative's free plan with those limits; every figure comes from the vendor's own page.
10 listings · facts checked on official pages, latest 2026-10-26. Plans change; confirm on the vendor's site.
| Plan | Contacts or subscribers | Email sends |
|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp Free | 250 | 500 a month (250 a day) |
| Kit (ConvertKit) | 10,000 | Unlimited broadcasts |
| beehiiv | 2,500 | Unlimited |
| Sender | 2,500 | 15,000 a month |
| Systeme.io | 2,000 | Unlimited |
| Loops | 1,000 | 4,000 per 30 days |
| MailerLite | 250 | 2,500 a month |
| Omnisend | 250 | 500 a month |
| Buttondown | 100 | Not stated |
| Brevo | Not stated | 300 a day |
| Substack | No limit | Not stated |
Sorted by the free contact or subscriber limit on each pricing page, largest first (ties alphabetical). Brevo, which limits daily sends instead, and Substack, a publishing platform with no subscriber limit, come last. Buttons marked "affiliate link" may earn us a commission at no cost to you; they never change the order. See the affiliate disclosure.
01Kit (ConvertKit)Email
From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026
Pick this if: You want room to grow: 10,000 subscribers free against Mailchimp's 250, with unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, and you can live without automations until you upgrade.
Get Kit through our linkaffiliate link
Disclosure: Kit pays us 50% of your first 12 months if you upgrade through our link. It costs you nothing extra.
02beehiivEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You publish a newsletter and want ten times Mailchimp Free's contacts (2,500), plus a website and podcast.
Try beehiivaffiliate link
We may earn a commission if you sign up or upgrade through this link. It costs you nothing extra.
03SenderEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You want a drag-and-drop builder, popups and forms, with 15,000 emails a month to 2,500 subscribers, thirty times Mailchimp Free's 500 sends.
04Systeme.ioCommerce
From the official page · checked Oct 24, 2026
Pick this if: You sell something and want email for up to 2,000 contacts with unlimited sends, plus sales funnels, a course and a blog, on one free plan.
Try Systeme.ioaffiliate link
We may earn a commission if you sign up or upgrade through this link. It costs you nothing extra.
05LoopsEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You send product email from a software app and have up to 1,000 contacts, four times Mailchimp Free; marketing and transactional sends share 4,000 per 30 days.
06MailerLiteEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 26, 2026
Pick this if: You need automations on a free plan: MailerLite lists 3 active automations, plus 2,500 emails a month instead of 500, at the same 250-subscriber cap.
Try MailerLiteaffiliate link
We may earn a commission if you sign up or upgrade through this link. It costs you nothing extra.
07OmnisendEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You run an online store: the same 250 contacts and 500 emails a month as Mailchimp Free, but with automations, segmentation and 500 web push notifications.
08ButtondownEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: Your newsletter is under 100 subscribers and you want Markdown and your own sending domain. It holds fewer contacts than Mailchimp Free, not more.
Try Buttondownaffiliate link
We may earn a commission if you sign up or upgrade through this link. It costs you nothing extra.
09BrevoEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You send often to a small list: up to 300 emails a day, against Mailchimp Free's 250 a day and 500 a month. Brevo approves accounts before they can send.
10SubstackEmail
From the official page · checked Oct 20, 2026
Pick this if: You only publish a newsletter, want no subscriber limit, and may charge later; Substack keeps 10% of paid subscriptions.