Best free AI agent tools
Best for a stated monthly allowance without bringing your own model: Dify, whose Sandbox plan includes 200 message credits across OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, xAI and Tongyi models.
| Tool | What you get | Limits | Card required | The catch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor | Cursor Agent with limited AI usage, limited agent requests and limited chat requests. | Limited AI usage; cloud agents, automations and Bugbot code reviews not included | Not stated by vendor | Exact usage limits are not published; cloud agents, automations and AI code reviews are paid-plan only. | cursor.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Cline | The open-source Cline VS Code extension and CLI, MCP Marketplace, community support. | You pay for AI inference on a usage basis | Not stated by vendor | Free software, but you pay your own model inference costs. | cline.bot/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Aider | Terminal coding agent that maps your codebase, auto-commits to git, and works with cloud or local LLMs. | Not stated by vendor | Not stated by vendor | No hosted plan; you pay your own model API costs unless you run a local model. | aider.chat/docs/faq.html checked 2026-10-14 |
| OpenHands | Local open-source OpenHands agent (web GUI, terminal UI, CLI), plus free hosted cloud access with API, Jira and Slack integrations. | Individual plan: bring your own key or use OpenHands models at cost | Not stated by vendor | You pay for model usage (your key or at-cost). | all-hands.dev/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Kilo Code | Open-source agentic coding assistant and code completion; works with any AI model. | Usage is billed separately | Not stated by vendor | Model usage is billed separately. | kilo.ai/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Roomote | The same Roomote app as Cloud, self-hosted, all features, no license needed under 10 users. | Up to 10 users; you provide hosting, sandboxes and inference | Not stated by vendor | You run and pay for hosting and inference; the hosted Cloud version is a 7-day trial only. | roocode.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| CrewAI | Studio visual editor and AI copilot, GitHub integration, templates, export as MCP server, 50 workflow executions a month. | 50 workflow executions a month | Not stated by vendor | Capped at 50 workflow executions a month; enterprise connectors are not included. | crewai.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Dify | 200 message credits to try models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, xAI and Tongyi, then switch to your own API key; 5 apps. | 1 workspace, 1 member, 5 apps, 50 knowledge documents, 50MB storage | Not stated by vendor | The 200 message credits are for trying it out; after that you use your own API key. The self-hosted Community edition must comply with the Dify Open Source License. | dify.ai/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
| Flowise | 2 flows and assistants, 100 predictions a month, 5MB storage, evaluations and metrics, embedded chatbot. | 2 flows and assistants, 100 predictions a month, 5MB storage | Not stated by vendor | Only 100 predictions a month on cloud Free; community support only. | flowiseai.com checked 2026-10-14 |
| Langflow | Drag-and-drop agent and flow builder with Python under the hood; deploy flows as APIs. | Not stated by vendor | Not stated by vendor | Free cloud limits are not stated by vendor. | langflow.org checked 2026-10-14 |
| Botpress | 3 AI agents, 3 seats, 100 conversations, Help Center, community support. | 100 conversations; no top-ups or overages | Not stated by vendor | Only 100 conversations, with no top-ups on the Free plan. | botpress.com/pricing checked 2026-10-14 |
Every row is taken from the vendor's official pricing page, checked 2026-10-14. "Not stated by vendor" means the page does not say. Plans change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
Pick this if
FAQ
Are open-source AI agents really free?
The software is free, but Cline, Kilo Code, Aider and OpenHands state that you pay for AI model usage, either with your own API key or through their provider.
Does Cursor have a free plan?
Yes. cursor.com/pricing lists a Free plan at $0 a month with limited agent and chat requests. Cloud agents and automations are paid-plan only.
How many free runs does CrewAI give?
The Basic plan includes 50 workflow executions a month.
What does Dify include for free?
The Sandbox plan includes 200 message credits, 1 workspace, 1 member, 5 apps and 50 knowledge documents.